build advice

Participant count
  • Participant list

alexe693
10+ year member

So I'm very new to all of this and I want your guys input!

1) So the only part of my system i actually have is a 2004 Honda accord and two 15 inch 1500rms watt subs. I'm only going to be using one of them because i have no room or reason for two.

2) I want a good sounding system that isn't drowned out by the bass so i don't plan on getting a full 1500 watt or 2000 watt amp... 1k would be plenty for my use, i don't mind under powering it as long at it doesn't affect quality of sound.

3) My question is should i get a super high watt head unit that i can hook up the mids/highs to without putting them through an amp? or is this idea completely ridiculous? If i did it this way i could keep the wiring complications down with just one mono amp and some wiring upgrades.

thanks for any help you can provide!

*btw i was given the two 15 inch mofo's for free. I understand they arent the greatest but i think one of them will be okay for what i want.

You will want a decent head unit either way. I'd say give it a whirl and if you need more, amp later. Even a small amp will be a dramatic improvement over any alleged "high powered" head unit though.

You will want a decent head unit either way. I'd say give it a whirl and if you need more, amp later. Even a small amp will be a dramatic improvement over any alleged "high powered" head unit though.
okay so maybe start out with just the head unit powering the mids and highs. thats pretty much the way i want to go because itll be cheaper and honestly i dont know how to wire multiple amps and stuff...and do you have any recommendations for a higher wattage head unit..some of my friends have like 200 watt ones and im just curious if thatll be enough to compete with a 15 inch sub?