Participant count
  • Participant list

xshlomox
10+ year member

So I am completely new at all of this car audio stuff. I have a 2003 Toyota Highlander with a Pioneer AVIC-Z1 head unit. Also, the speakers in my car are JBL, if that matters. I'm interested in buying some subs and an amp for the back of my car. I've heard Alpine Type-R's are good? I listen to all types of music but mostly hip hop. I am open to any and all suggestions so don't be afraid to type what you think. My budget is $500 but I'm not afraid to go over a hundred dollars or so if it will make my car sound better. I also would rather have a setup that gives me better sound quality than over-the-top bass.Thanks all!

personally, i would go with some 12's or 10's. type R's are okay, and unless your looking to spend another 500 on power system upgrades i wouldn't go above 800-1000 watts.

if your looking for "loud" bass go for a ported box, if your looking for decently loud bass and sound quality go for a sealed box. also you will not only save money by building the box yourself, you will also be able to build it sub woofer specific, and size it to your hatch/truck space.

i would recommend something along the lines of a Fi SSD 12" sub woofer in a sealed box built to FI specs. if you decide you want more spl in the future build a larger ported box.

amplifier wise, you can go a tad cheaper on an amp, the SSD take 1000 watts rms. i would go with a rockford or kicker amp if buying used, or a hifonics Hfi series or Brutus series if buying new. just be sure to ONLY look @ rms ratings when shopping for hifonics equipment.

it would be a great idea to shop the classifieds here on caraudio.com, or check out caraudioclassifieds.com.

depending on the size of your current alternator, you may or may not need a second battery in the trunk, and do the big three upgrade before you install any of the new equipment.

Wow, thanks!! After reading your post, I have a couple of questions...