First build ever; looking for better amp

Participant count
  • Participant list
I'll probably be hated on for this post because Reddit already lost their ******* about my setup, but hopefully you guys will hate a little less. This is my first build ever, and I was pretty low on cash when I bought my first vehicle. I'll give a little run up on my setup:

Sub: Cerwin-Vega V122D

Amp: Pioneer GM A5602 (I know I know)

HU: JVC KD-R850BT

Box: vented 1.5 cubic feet

Now this system bumps hard, and I love it. I just want to know if this is a good combo before I upgrade other things on my vehicle with the remainder of cash I've got. I have the amp bridged to my sub and it's getting what the amp is claiming to push @ 4ohm (450 I think). I do have a few questions though. Am I overpowering my sub? Is their a better mono amp I can buy under or around $200? I don't really like this amp because it gets so hot I smell plastic or PCB.

This is my first post, and I think I understood all the rules correctly, but if I didn't please enlighten me. Thanks guys. Nice forum you got here.

tl;dr better amp for the sub I have than this Pioneer.

My vehicle is a Ford Ranger 2010 extended cab

hi there. you shouldn't feel like you're going to be flamed for asking questions. we've all started somewhere, and it was modest when we paid for it ourselves.

Class AB amps will run hot. Best to use that amp on speakers and get a monoblock amp. A Massive Audio N2 would be a nice amp for that sub. Having more power than you need is preferred so the amp isn't running at max output all of the time.

---------- Post added at 07:12 AM ---------- Previous post was at 07:11 AM ----------

Massive Audio N2 800W Mono Block Amp 623169630392 | eBay

it's not that expensive new, but even better used.

I'm curious to know what the members of reddit said about the setup, and the setups of the members that had something to say about.