14 speaker set-up

rvoijen

CarAudio.com Newbie
Hi everyone,

I'm new to this forum but not to audio installations, though I am by no means an expert. I currently own a Range Rover L322 from 2006. As the current sound system is not working, I am looking to replace the whole thing. However the set-up goes a little beyond the level I have previously done, so I would like some help.

The current set-up is 14 speakers
4 doors with triple speakers - Low, Mid, High (tweet)
A centre-speaker in the dashboard
A subwoofer in the back

This is currently connected to the (faulty) Harman Kardon Logic 7 15 channel amp

What I am thinking as an replacement is:

Alpine ILX705D head unit

1x 5-Channel AMP 4x80W + 1x180W or 4x75W + 1x200W for front speakers
Front doors 1x Low 1x Middle 1x High - Low on 1 channel Middle/High on 1 channel with crossover
120W Center speaker on 5th channel

1x 5-Channel AMP 4x80W + 1x180W or 4x75W + 1x200W for reaar speakers
Rear doors 1x Low 1x Middle 1x High - Low on 1 channel Middle/High on 1 channel with crossover
180/200W Subwoofer on 5th channel

It this a workable (and decent) set-up?
Am I missing something here?
Any particular shortcomings or concerns?

It this a workable (and decent) set-up?
Am I missing something here?
Any particular shortcomings or concerns?
On most 5 channel amps, the fifth channel is a subwoofer channel. I do not think it will sound good on the center dash speaker.
Your best bet would be to use 3-way passive crossovers on the doors. That will allow you to use just one 5 channel amplifier.
When you use a passive x-over, each of the 3 speakers will get the full 80 watts from that channel; the power will not be divided by 3. As for the center channel, I doubt you will miss it.

Agree with 1aespinoza . That said, the output you list for the sub is lacking if you intend to add an aftermarket sub.​

Consider something like this instead:

Focal FPP 5300 open box