Second Battery tips?

LTDP200

CarAudio.com Newbie
May 3, 2020
Gulfport, MS
Hey, I’m in a bit of a situation. I’m fairly new to car audio so I’m kinda ignorant when it comes to some things. I just upgraded my system, got rid of those cheap MTX terminators and got something that actually hits. I just got 2 Digital Design Redline 500 series 10s in a gigantic ported box running off a Kicker CX 600.1 amplifier. Now, obviously, these subs use a lot of power, and just running them off the battery under the hood ain’t gonna cut it. I’m looking to add a second battery. What size battery should I be looking for and what are y’all’s suggestions

blazian87

CarAudio.com Elite
10+ year member
Mar 12, 2007
Los Angeles, CA
Go with the biggest AGM battery you can fit in under the hood. There are cheap alternatives but my go to brands are NorthStar and XS battery. I would start with that and think about 2nd battery after. You don't really need it for 1200w or less.

THATpurpleKUSH

Your emotions will be manipulated for my pleasure
5,000+ posts
10+ year member
Sep 30, 2009
Slums of the Shaolin
Unless you have smaller than a 70 or 80a alt, that 600w amp wont pull alot of current a stock charging system should be able to sustain it. However like the other member said, use the biggest agm you can fit inder the hood. Sams club duracell platinums are the best value for agms right now.

Great choice going with the redline 500s, they are one of the best subs in their class.

Reactions: OldHeadBASS

Slo_Ride

Regulator
5,000+ posts
10+ year member
Oct 15, 2005
ATLANTA
Damn the 10 has an fs of 30 and the 12 is 25.5

THATpurpleKUSH

Your emotions will be manipulated for my pleasure
5,000+ posts
10+ year member
Sep 30, 2009
Slums of the Shaolin
Redlines will play relatively flat or burp loud n peaky. Very versatile subs, they were just redesigned recently too.

Popwarhomie

CarAudio.com Elite VIP
5,000+ posts
10+ year member
Jan 22, 2010
FL