Pioneer Amp, blowing multiple subwoofers..

RyanParshall
10+ year member

Cool New Member
Ok so I'm kind of pissed first of all that I spent a lot of time typing this out already like 4 days ago and it never even posted on the site.. so I'll try again but a quick explanation.

My Pioneer amp keeps blowing subwoofers, gone through three, below is the power ratings and what I'm using.

Amp: Pioneer GM-D7500M, Mono block Class D.

-400w rms @ 2ohms

-200w rms @ 4 ohms

8guage power and ground wires, both good.

Running a single 10in sub.

Pioneer Premier TS-W1008D4

-DVC 350w rms. Wired in parallel to 2 ohms.

Eclipse 10in, something...

-SVC 300w rms, wired in at 4ohms.

Amp Settings:

-Gain is set on "Normal" which is 1/4 of the way up. Not high enough that it should blow any of these subs.

-Bass boost at 0.

-Freq about 80-100hz,

-Set to LPF.

Deck has 4v pre outs.

Anybody have any idea why they keep blowing? I've been installing this stuff for the last 6 years off and on, and never had this problem before. No reason they should be blowing so soon, I had two of the Pioneer subs and one blew within a week and the other in under a month, and the eclipse sub took 2 days.

Any help is appreciated. Any questions, just ask. thanks.

car4.jpg

gain is to high the 4v outs are too much for the normal 2v setting you are referring to and knowing pioneer amp layouts that gain is about 3/4 of the way up if it is set to normal. just dial back the gain and enjoy you're probably expecting to much out of that sub