How Do I Add a JL Sub to My Current Setup?

cpthoneybadger

I have a 2011 BMW M3 with the basic HiFi system. I replaced the two underseat mid-bass speakers with Earthquake SWS-8 subs and added a Rockford Fosgate P300-2 amp for them.

I used a PAC SOEM-T Line Out Convertor for the RCA output and remote turn-on. The Rockford Fosgate amp is running the two subs only and the factory amp is still running the other car speakers.

Current Setup:

2x Earthquake SWS-8XI (2 ohm SWS-8)

Rockford Fosgate Punch P300-2 300-Watt Stereo Amplifier

PAC SOEM-T Line Out Convertor

Amp Frequency: 175 Hz, since they really are mid-bass and replaced the mid-bass.

I wanted something more so I bought a JL 10w3v3-4 and a sealed box for the trunk. I got the sub at a good price brand new for $160. I thought I could replace the two SWS-8s and use the same amp, 300 Watts x 1 @ 4-Ohm Bridged. Since I'm new to this, I then realized that I would be without any mid-bass!

So now I am thinking of keeping the two SWS-8s and adding another amp for the JL. What are my options?

This is what I was thinking:

1. Add a Rockford Fosgate R500X1D. 4 ohms: 300 watts x 1 chan. $140
  2. The RF R500X1D amp has Pass-through RCA so I can plug the RCA from the LOC into this and then out from this amp to the other RF amp that runs the SWS-8 subs.
  3. Add two power distribution blocks: 1 for power, 1 for ground.
  4. Do I need a crossover? I was thinking I could keep the amp for the SWS-8s at 175 Hz and the amp for the JL 10 at 80 Hz. The SWS-8s will still play the low bass frequency however.
  5. How do I run the remote turn-on from the LOC?

What is the most efficient and cost effective way of adding the JL 10 to my current setup?

Thanks!

You have a good plan. Hook everything up like you outlined, but add FMOD 50 or 60Hz high-pass filters to the RCA inputs on your mid-bass amp. Then set your sub amp LP cut-off to match.