Sub will only work if I have 1 RCA cable plugged in.

Participant count
  • Participant list

Lawjic

CarAudio.com Newbie
Total newbie here... Seeking answers. Tried searching google with no real results.

I called Crutchfield and they suspected a bad amp, and replaced it, but same issue exists on new amp.

If both RCA cables are plugged in, I get no sound from my sub. If I unplug one of the RCA cables, the sub comes to life. Doesn't matter which I unplug. I can unplug either one and the sub works, but for some reason, with both plugged in I get nothing.

I tried a different amp (as stated), and different sub itself. I had two 6.5" subs in my rear deck I tried first, no luck there. Bought a loaded sub off amazon, still the same issue...

Has anyone experienced anything like this before? Any suggestions on next steps? I was thinking of maybe trying new RCA cables, but that's about all I got at this point...

For reference, the head-unit is a ILX-W650. I have a KTA-450 amp connected to it for the door speakers, and I use a S2-A60M amp for the sub. Speakers are working fine at all times, only issue I have is with the sub...

The two 6.5 rear deck subs are little skar subs, and the loaded sub is a 10" skar sub.

Thanks for your insight!

Mac

Can you post a pic of the connections?

Attaching a few pics in my Google drive here: https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1thT5Qck7nKTL2Bkx0_ph9vI9W3e4R4P_

For simplicity I hooked up my single sub to rule out any writing mistakes I may have done with the 2 6.5 inch subs

It sounds like a polarity issue. Try switching polarity on one of the subs and test it.

I tried switching the rca cables, and from my head unit, there's an option to switch 180, neither helped unfortunately :(