Questions on my first setup.

Participant count
  • Participant list

devdog
10+ year member

Car audio newbie here, I did some research on subwoofers and figured out what matches up with what and what i should look for and all that jazz. I drive a 2001 Mustang Coupe and was looking to put some subwoofers in the trunk. I have limited trunk height due to my rear deck. I also put myself on a budget of $400 for everything I need to buy(2 subs, amp, box, wires). I Was shopping around and found a decent deal, 2 kicker CVR 10's, a Kenwood KAC 9105D amp, and wires for around $340. (If anyone has any better options in my price range please list them.) I am going to have to make a custom box due to the limited height. I was thinking sealed(maybe not if ported is better) but i have some questions.

1. How much air space should i allow for each sub? The recommended is .8 to 3 cubic ft, but that's a pretty big range.

2. Should there be a divider in the middle of the box separating the two subs?

3. If there is a divider in the middle, how do i wire the two subs together and where do i put the terminal cup thing(if i even need one?)

4. Should I buy 4 ohm subs and wire them down to 1 ohm? or should i buy 2 ohm subs and wire them to 2 ohms?(which is better for the amp/sound quality/loudness?)

I'd be very appreciative to anyone who answers my questions.

Last edited by a moderator:
look in the classified adds here. and post and add for a box builder in the enclosure section.

Not many people like kicker stuff so prepare to get flamed.

Your looking at $50 wire, $150 amp, $150 subs. and $50 for a box if you do it yourself.

1. I don't think that airspace is a big issue on the CVR's, I've seen some in tiny sealed boxes, I've even seen one 10 in a huge obcon box with dual ports that could have been 3cu. ft. or more.

2. I always build seperate chambers, but I'm sure there are people who have tried both ways that will be able to help you.