New to car audio, need advice please

johnmtip

CarAudio.com Newbie
TN
I'm new to car audio and only know the bare basics. I would take more time to research to upgrade my vehicle's audio system, however, I have two nearly full time jobs, so please forgive my ignorance. I need help picking out speakers.
I have broken up my needed advice into sections, so it would be easier to understand. I apologize in advance for so much info in one post.

Intro:
I have a 2006 GMC Envoy SLE 4WD, (No Bose/DVD). I would like to upgrade the front door speakers first. (Not sure if I have rear door speakers, probably not).

Speakers:
I don't know what size I need, or what would be the best "bang for my buck". I also don't know what tools are required for taking off the door panels.

Head unit:
Then later down the line maybe I will upgrade the head unit, maybe an ATOTO A6 or something, and able to have rear cameras hooked up to it. (I'm atleast aware that I need a wire harness and probably a Double DIN instalation kit). let's ignore the head unit for now.

Sub:
I haven't given Any thought to installing a sub, I absolutely have no idea what I need, I don't want to install another alternator or something. That fact has put me off from even thinking about, I know tech, but I'm no electrition, and don't know much about ohms, resistances, voltages, and wattage. Edit: I also listen to a lot of fast technical deathcore music.

Thanks so much for any advice.

Edit: This is my amazon wish list: https://www.amazon.com/hz/wishlist/ls/X2EOW58JU7A3?ref_=wl_share
Edit 2. "Edit: I also listen to a lot of fast technical deathcore music."

Last edited:
For speaker sizes use Sonicelectronix or Crutchfield, you input your year model and trim then they ask what option you have for radio then give you the speaker sizes and locations. From there you can decide on some companies.