New Build - Doing a Show from the Van

Participant count
  • Participant list
Hey there, I'm new to the forum and overall new to car audio. We've just converted a 1996 Dodge Ram Van into a Tiny Home. We did all of the carpentry work, and just finished up the electrical work to hook up some appliances. The biggest one being a Whynter 65 Qt fridge that has a 4.5 amp draw(doesn't turn on all of the time - great efficiency). I've been doing a lot of research and looking into the ins and outs of everything, but I figured I could ask one of you guys with much more experience than I have in what is the best way to go about setting up what I have in mind...

In short, I am a Musician traveling around the US. I'd like to be able to open up the side doors of the van (2 doors that open out), have speakers built in to the doors so I can play a Solar Powered Show. The shows I'll be doing will consist of an acoustic guitar, a microphone or two, and the occasional collaboration with another musician. We'll be playing in local farmers markets, small outdoor events, and as a side stage for larger festivals. I'd like to be able to play for at least least 2-3 hours before getting to the point where I have to charge my batteries (preferably more). Quick side note, in the very near future is when we are getting a large enough Solar Set up to charge my deep cycle batteries 215AH 12V total. >Perhaps this will need a upgrade?

Some other things to note:

-Most of the music will be with an acoustic guitar and a mic or two for vocals, with the occasional collaboration here and there. It will not be very bass driven although it would be great to have some lows in there.. I'm looking for a great balanced sound.

My current setup includes:

-2x 215AH deep cycle 6V batteries in series (12V) - Charged by the Alternator

-Stock 1996 Stereo System

-Lots of love into it along with hard work