My first thread----HELP!

slowfive0
10+ year member

Hey guys,

Great site! I'm a newbie attempting my first box build. Vehicle is a 2000 Chevy Ext. cab pickup. I'm building the box to go under the rear seat to house 2 12's. Here is my problem and question.

I don't know what the subwoofer requirements are? They are 12", Have MD2 on the cone. The sticker on the back of the magnet says:

Impact High Performance Drivers

There is a big M for a symbol?

74792 / MD2128

These are 10 years old if not a little more.

The box I measured up (haven't made it yet) will have approximately 1.25 cu/ft per speaker. I was leaning towards sealed just because of my inexperience and not knowing what the speakers were designed for.

What would you guys recommend for a volume and have you ever heard of these speakers? (I'm not against ported if I can make it work without knowing the speaker requirements.)

Also, should I divide the box up in the middle (separate chamber for each speaker)????

Thank you for any input! //content.invisioncic.com/y282845/emoticons/biggrin.gif.d71a5d36fcbab170f2364c9f2e3946cb.gif

P.S. I will be powering it up with a Rockford Fosgate amp (200) bridged---roughly same age as speakers.

They work fine in my mustang. The original owner had installed the system. I recently pulled them out and wanted to put the system in my truck. Problem is the original box (sealed box design) won't fit. I want to say (going off memory), that the original box worked out to be 1.1 cu/ft per speaker.

No pics right now, but I could get some if it will help. Thanks.

pics of the woofers? have you tried em yet to make sure they operate/ sound good?

I can get some later tonight or first thing tomorrow (wife is at work and has the camera)....//content.invisioncic.com/y282845/emoticons/crap.gif.7f4dd41e3e9b23fbd170a1ee6f65cecc.gif

I think some pics would really help.