Help With Proper RCA Voltage And LOC Wiring Into Bose System. Not A Beginner :)

Participant count
  • Participant list
View attachment 26554974Hi everyone. Although I've used this forum for years, this is the first time I've ever posted. I've been messing with car audio for 10+ years, but ironically this was my first Bose integration.

Thanks in advance for reading, and I have tried to be as detailed as possible in my description; that's why the post is so long.

The setup:

05 Maxima Bose Non-Nav

LOC (2 channel) with L/R level adjustments and a wired adjustment knob up front.

-LOC levels are set at max and knob is usually at 3/4.

1 Alpine MRP-500 - 500 RMS at 2ohm

1 Audiobahn AW1206Q 1100 RMS, 2 ohm load

6 Gauge power, 4 gauge ground, unfortunately "widdled" down to fit the MRP.

USASpec BT45, all testing tried through Bluetooth, Aux Cord, and CD player. Consistent results (which says a ton about USASpec's product!)

I know that I will never have as loud and clean of a signal that an aftermarket head unit will give me, but I still feel like my sub should hit harder. I followed the proper formulas and I set my gain using a DMM and proper tone with volume at 3/4 of the max (23) to shoot for 31.62v, putting my amp's gain around halfway (can't remember the voltage off the top of my head sorry). Using a proper test tone, the voltage at the RCA is reading 1.4 volts. I know a proper set up should be at least 2v.

What I'm wondering is if my wiring is 100% accurate. I spent hours looking over the wiring diagram for my vehicle, and I was almost positive I have everything as perfect as I can get it, but something doesn't seem right to me. The Bose sub wiring goes into the REGULAR Bose amp, then out to the dedicated sub amp mounted under one of the subs.

I tapped my LOC into what I believe is the Pre-Regular-amp wiring, coming directly from the head unit, and all bass notes mimmic the stock sub's identically.