HELP!!!! JL 10w3v3 or 10w6v2

Hey everyone, I'm kind of new to this, but I really need help. I am trying to figure out which of these JL subs I should get for my car. I drive an '08 Civic Si coupe and have the setup in the trunk facing into the car in a somewhat slim sealed box (it has a mount depth of around 9"). I am more concerned with sound quality than I am with volume. I am only going to have one 10" sub hooked up to my JL 250/1 audio slash series amp. I listen to some hip-hop, but I also listen to rock, metal, techno, dance music, etc. so I need the sub to sound as tight as possible and hit as quickly and precisely as possible. I have found the 10w3v3 for about $160 new online, and the 10w6v2 for about $260 new online, so given the amp that I will be using, I am trying to figure out if it is really worth it to put up the extra cash for the w6 instead of the w3. I have only rudimentary knowledge of car audio, so if you could please keep everything dumbed down, I would really appreciate it and won't be insulted if you present the information in a manner you might view as "overly-simplistic." Thank you so much and I hope you can help me with this.

I think you'd be better off with the w3 for that application. It's a better match for your amp & I think you'd be plenty pleased with it's performance.

Last edited by a moderator:
IMO either one would have the "quick & tight" sound that you're looking for but you simply don't have the power to justify going with the w6. Your amp would be nice for a single w3 10" though. Just my view.