Type R vs E Series..

Sailor Dog
10+ year member

Iowa
Hi all. I've got a buddy who is looking to add a bit of bump to his car, and he's looking to spend about $600 (minus the head unit). We're looking for a pair of 12s as that's what I think is going to work best for his car. We've been doing some looking, and I saw the newer Type Rs are about $150, but he was also curious about Sundown's 'E' series subs. They're a little over $100 each, and I know the things are durable.

Given that he provides proper power (or probably a bit over for the E), which subwoofer would provide better output for a 'budget' setup?

So he has $600 for Sub(s), amp, and enclosure only right? I'm no pro but I can tell you right now it would help people help you if you can tell us what type of vehicle and how much room he has to work with. For $600 he can certainly find a decent setup if your only talking subs, amp for subs and box.

A good subwoofer option would probably be the Threatcon 2 12" It's $99 on pre order right now. Just do a search and you should find the review pro rabbit did. Lot's of people like that sub and it's one i'm considering myself. A pair of them with a sq 1200 would run you $470 and leave him with the left over money towards a box.

Threatcon 2 12"

C2 Audio 12" Threatcon-2

SQ 1200D

https://www.soundqubed.com/Q1-1200D-Amplifier_p_30.html

Honestly, you might not be able to tell a difference by ear in output of the two set ups; the E's are durable, and since they're cheaper, roll with them.

A good subwoofer option would probably be the Threatcon 2 12" It's $99 on pre order right now. Just do a search and you should find the review pro rabbit did. Lot's of people like that sub and it's one i'm considering myself. A pair of them with a sq 1200 would run you $470 and leave him with the left over money towards a box.
Threatcon 2 12"

C2 Audio 12" Threatcon-2

SQ 1200D

https://www.soundqubed.com/Q1-1200D-Amplifier_p_30.html