Newbie help -- ported box

Z3n
10+ year member

Hey guys, I'm a complete newb when it comes to designing and building my own sub enclosure. In fact, the system I'm installing is my first system, so I'm a car audio newb too. :p

I've read the Basic EDU for a ported sub box but I still need some help and some questions answered. :p

The subs I'm working with are Kicker CompVR Aluminized. I'm going to be putting two in and have a ported box. Each sub needs 1.75 to 2.25 cubic feet, and I'm going to go with 2 cubic feet.

So what I need help with is the port and tuning the subs. I want to tune the port tuned to 35 Hz. I'm using WinISD at the moment to figure out the dimensions for the ports but I need some help/input.

So the specs that I have right now are these: 2 in x 12.50 in by 23.25 inches deep. Does that sound like it would work? I have the other things set at 2.00 cubic feet and 35 Hz tuning.

Second, for the positioning of the port, should I have it so that the ports join up as one or should I have for each sub, like on the outer edge of the box on each side?

Sorry if this is long winded and all. If there's any more info I need just say so and I'll try to find it!

Thanks!

Hey I'd buy a box, but sadly I'm a high schooler with a limited budget. :p

Anyways, I think it'll be a good thing to figure out how to do now so I can make better boxes if I upgrade my system later. Plus, my dad's a carpenter so I have all the tools I'll need, and he can help me. //content.invisioncic.com/y282845/emoticons/biggrin.gif.d71a5d36fcbab170f2364c9f2e3946cb.gif

Well if I find out I'm absolutely lousy at designing/building my own box I'll probably have to resort to buying too. But this'll save me some money. Hopefully.

It is nice to see someone new here actually do research before posting.

Here is what I recommend

Have a box designed by an expert here who will basically provide you with a blue print you can follow.