New system except sub. Not happy. Is a sub the answer to my problems?

MIDILizard

CarAudio.com Newbie
Hey Everyone. I'm pretty new with car audio but produce music and have a decent studio setup so I know non-car audio pretty well. I bought from a good dealer (400+ 5 star rated) and felt good about my purchases from my own research. But I'm not really happy w the sound. :-( The installer straight up said I'd want a sub (and I believe him) but they didn't have enough options in stock (I wanted something out of the way like under the seat) and I didn't want some big box in the back. I did read somewhere that OEM speakers often had more bass just in the front/rear setup alone to satisfy the buyers enough. I've played with the Pioneer settings and can get some good sounds and yeah, it does go low, but at louder volumes it breaks up quite a bit (I have to turn down the lows down in the EQ.) I'm assuming with a sub, it will take that frequency stress off the front/rear speakers with using the crossover, spreading the frequencies around properly. Right? So then, a few questions:

1. Will a sub make me happy or will I be fine w just playing more w the current front/rear setup?

2. Will I also want an amp for my entire system? The installer thought the receiver had an enough juice (50wtt). I don't need my ears bleeding but I do like clarity and feeling the music. I don't like "background" music!

3. With a sub, will it allow more volume and clarity? That's what it seems like.

4. What subs should I look at? Powered? Are 8"s good enough? I'd prefer hidden. I don't want to pay $500.

5. Since the rest of the system is hooked up, is it easy enough for me to pull out the receiver and plug up the sub or should I get the installer to do it?

6. I'm not really thrilled w the Pioneer. Seems clunky and unreliable w the wireless CarPlay/AndroidAuto. So far seems overrated. So far I prefer my phone!