New Car: Need Speaker Advice (Audio Newbie)

Participant count
  • Participant list

boomer34
10+ year member

Hey everyone,

I just bought a 2011 GMC Sierra 1500 crew cab. I have never done any after market audio upgrades in my previous cars, mainly because I have never had a nice car. So I am looking to upgrade the 4 door speakers, and probably add an amp to power them.

I am not going to be putting a sub in, so I am wanting the best speakers I can buy, ones that will give me the full spectrum of sound...at least as much as 6-3/4 speakers will do.

I am wanting to leave the factory head unit in (unless this is a huge negative), but want to buy 4 door speakers and an amp (the doors hold 6-3/4 speakers). I am new to audio upgrades, but I am a good internet researcher...but before I go buying speakers and an amp based on my internet research...I wanted to come ask the pros around here.

Here are the 2 speakers options I have found to be well recommended:

1) JL Audio C2-650X

Best Internet Price: $103.95 (Retail $179.99)

RMS 15-60, Peak 100

2) Infinity 629I

Best Internet Price: $65.99 (Retail $129.99)

RMS 2-75, Peak 225

In my brief amp research, I have found this one to be well recommend, compact (fit under the front seat), good price, and will power both sets above:

1) Rockford Fosgate PBR300X4

Best Internet Price: $186.99 (Retail $229.99)

RMS 75x4

Am I on the right track here?

Any other speakers or amps to look at that might serve my interests better?

Thanks for any insight and help!

Last edited by a moderator:
I'd look into components over coaxials since you wont be running a sub. well components upfront and coaxs rear (unless your wanting more heavy SQ with staging and all in which case you may just only want to run fronts)

Whats your budget for all 4 speakers?

that seems to be a pretty nice amp youve chosen IMO

Like I said, I'm an audio newbie...so I gotta admit that I am not super familiar with all the differences between coaxs and components...