Do I need to upgrade my alternator/battery?

Participant count
  • Participant list

Frambled
10+ year member

Richmond
Here is the situation. I'm going to install a rockford 10" p3 with an alpine m500 amp into a stock 2009 Jetta.

My Grandpa and Uncle are both very good with cars (but not so much car audio) and seem to think that the alternator and the battery won't be able to handle the system.

I'm new to car audio but I feel like people have pushed their stock electric systems a lot harder than I plan on doing; but I'd like to see some confirmations here (for my relatives sake) Can anyone back me up?

Thanks I didn't see a problem. I figured the guys running 3 12" Walmart subs probably don't bother with other upgrades.

and sorry for this thread that has probably been made 100 other times. I just needed my own to send off to my relatives.

Here is the situation. I'm going to install a rockford 10" p3 with an alpine m500 amp into a stock 2009 Jetta.
My Grandpa and Uncle are both very good with cars (but not so much car audio) and seem to think that the alternator and the battery won't be able to handle the system.

I'm new to car audio but I feel like people have pushed their stock electric systems a lot harder than I plan on doing; but I'd like to see some confirmations here (for my relatives sake) Can anyone back me up?
Since there is only a 200 watt difference in 4 ohm power and the minimum 2 ohm power, the efficiency will be much better at 4ohms.

4ohms at rated 80% efficiency @ 14.4v:

300w/.80 = 375 watts input

375/14.4 = 26 amps

4 ohm current draw : 26 amps

2ohms at 500 watts with a realistic 70% efficiency at 14.4v:

500w/.70 = 714 watts input

714w/14.4 = 49.5 amps

2 ohm current draw: 49.5 amps

the difference between 300 watts and 500 watts is about 2db, barely audible. The 23.5 amps difference between 2 ohm and 4 ohm usage of the amplifier could be the difference between headlights flickering at night or not on your car.