Building an all-in-one box


bebealex

Junior Member
Nov 2, 2012
6
0
Québec, CA
Hello,

Here comes the boom

Projet intégrateur of Secondary 5 (QC)

I wish, install a radio, a box .. I do not know how to name my idea!

So I present:

-using automotive components

-branchable on a 120v outlet

-containing a subwoofer 10-12inches without exploding watts

integrate a set-tweet / midrange (TBD)

-audio source will be a radio car (connection required: AUX)

 

bebealex

Junior Member
Nov 2, 2012
6
0
Québec, CA
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #2
I saw the concept like this.

-Fiber-pine 1 "

-components, not too expensive and powerful

For the box, speaker subwoofer also contain sub's amp, the audio source and the amplifier. Tweets and mediums will be on a smaller box on the topof the big one, the wires pass through holes in the rear. (I was afraid that the smaller speakers didnt resist by the pressure generated by the subwoofer if they were in the same box).

For speakers, I thought to connect the tweets and mids on a car radio with small amps (56watts) to save on a real amp). The sub is powered by a specific real amp for subs.

For power ... As I said I use automotive components ... I need help to be able to plug everything into a power house! (converter?)

 

bebealex

Junior Member
Nov 2, 2012
6
0
Québec, CA
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #3
The subject seems viable?

Is there somes clarifications needed?

Basically I posted here for help with connections and components ...

Sorry for the triple post the school computers randomly planting I hesitated to write a tool long post.

 

jockhater2

CarAudio.com Veteran
Sep 8, 2011
3,120
1
Saukville, WI
I am sorry. but I honestly don't understand what I am reading?

 

groundpound4200

Da fuq did I just read?
5,000+ posts
10+ year member
Nov 4, 2007
5,417
22
Mankato, MN
Are you asking a question? What are you wanting to do with this?

 

OmegaBunny

Moderator
10+ year member
I think he wants a all-in-one stereo setup. The sub, mids/highs, and amps all in one box. He wants to use car audio equipment but be able to run it from inside his house on 120v instead of 12v.

Correct OP?

Is this going to be used in your home?

 

Ronny

CarAudio.com Elite
10+ year member
Jan 25, 2010
734
13
Grand Forks, ND
I did understand one thing: correct OP, you would not want the woofer(s) and mid-drivers in the same/shared chamber of an enclosure, the pressure of the woofer will more than likely effect the mid-drivers. How much power do you plan to run and just how "loud" are you looking for this to be though? Simple enough though, just a divider in the enclosure is needed.

 

jungstah

Senior VIP Member
May 10, 2012
284
0
san francisco
feels like google translate

 

OmegaBunny

Moderator
10+ year member
Yeah if you are going to run them all in one enclosure make sure you keep the woofer chamber separated from the mids chamber. As for power, I know you can use converter and even PC power supplies but you will probably be better off buying home audio amps plus it will be safer.

 

OmegaBunny

Moderator
10+ year member
There are proper ways to do it but I haven't done it personally so I will leave it up to people who are more familiar with this area.
@pro\-rabbit
 

skylineTT

bass=sekz
10+ year member
Jun 9, 2007
4,419
15
Houston/Dallas
You can use simple DC power supplies to power your amplifiers. You need to tell us how much power you want to run though.

 

pro-rabbit

Moderator
Pro Seller
5,000+ posts
10+ year member
Jan 13, 2004
12,639
183
OKC, OK
You can use simple DC power supplies to power your amplifiers. You need to tell us how much power you want to run though.
I agree, but I would add a small battery to ensure you have enough of an electrical setup.

If you build it in a separated chambered enclosure the you will far better off. Put all the electrical in on area and just run the power cable for the power supply out the back or side to plug in.

 

skylineTT

bass=sekz
10+ year member
Jun 9, 2007
4,419
15
Houston/Dallas
If you use a computer power supply, you can mount an On/Off switch to the enclosure that can turn the power supply/amps on and off while keeping the power cord plugged in.

 

pro-rabbit

Moderator
Pro Seller
5,000+ posts
10+ year member
Jan 13, 2004
12,639
183
OKC, OK
If you use a computer power supply, you can mount an On/Off switch to the enclosure that can turn the power supply/amps on and off while keeping the power cord plugged in.
I don't think those will be large enough. There are several power supplies out there that use a switch for "on/off" operation. That would be a simple as relocating that switch.

Could also use a power/ground power plug and just leave the power supply outside of the enclosure.

 

skylineTT

bass=sekz
10+ year member
Jun 9, 2007
4,419
15
Houston/Dallas
Like so



 

skylineTT

bass=sekz
10+ year member
Jun 9, 2007
4,419
15
Houston/Dallas
My supplies were 1000w (not rms) PSU's that I got for 51 bucks a piece. They run 600w RMS amps at full tilt without a problem. This was simply a suggestion in the case that OP didn't need 2kW of power. :p

 

bebealex

Junior Member
Nov 2, 2012
6
0
Québec, CA
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #18
who said google translate??

you're right !

I assume i need to ask direct questions //content.invisioncic.com/y282845/emoticons/smile.gif.1ebc41e1811405b213edfc4622c41e27.gif

never did an audio setup...

-So, if the subwoofer is 400Watts, the amp need to be 400watts RMS to get the job done?

-Am I right to say that meds and tweets can be directly pluged to the radio ?

-You have an exemple of.. 120v to 12v... the thing to connect all that on an house 120v

 

skylineTT

bass=sekz
10+ year member
Jun 9, 2007
4,419
15
Houston/Dallas
These are similar to what @pro\-rabbit was talking about, and I think similar to what Jacob uses in his shop, although he has a ton of them in parallel to get more current.

New 12V DC 30A 360W Regulated Switching Power Supply | eBay

If your subwoofer is 400 watts, the amp should supply around 400 watts as well. The mids and tweets can be run from the head unit if you want to, but are usually connected to crossovers first.
 

Create an account or login to comment

You must be a member in order to leave a comment

Create account

Create an account on our community. It's easy!

Log in

Already have an account? Log in here.


Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)



Latest posts

Newest threads

Most posts - Past 30 days

Latest classifieds