Box design? And why?

kush-divinity
10+ year member

Klan of TN support Obama
Now, before we say sub up, port back in SUV, I want you to explain why it is the best, and how it performs with other enclosures.

Case in hand: Explorer, plenty of room, 2x 15 or 1x 18 SQ based sub.

I know sealed will provide fail proof SQ, but at a cost of output.

I love ported, but know that there are ideas out here that I have never tried before.

What design would provide the best performance when a balance of 75SQ/25SPL is desired?

I must have the extreme low end extension that a sealed box provides, and would like to have the bump in output of a ported. What design will grant me a fairly flat response, or one that is exaggerated in the very low end, while still reatining the higher bass notes up to 70hz? I am pretty handy in construction, so a radical design is not a problem.

I have saw plans involving a folded or "S" style port on this forum. How well does this work, as I realize that if I use a larger port, I get more output, but it must be longer to achieve the lower tuning frequency.

Also, does anyone know a ballpark number for resonant frequency in a 1994 4door Explorer? From my noobish tests using music and test notes----I see around 45hz as it? Am I close?

Now, before we say sub up, port back in SUV, I want you to explain why it is the best, and how it performs with other enclosures.
Case in hand: Explorer, plenty of room, 2x 15 or 1x 18 SQ based sub.

I know sealed will provide fail proof SQ, but at a cost of output.

I love ported, but know that there are ideas out here that I have never tried before.

What design would provide the best performance when a balance of 75SQ/25SPL is desired?