Adding Bass to factory Systems - I'm a noob

...how would you expect 2 x 8’s to perform compared to 2 x 10’s? Assume same manufacturer and speaker series.

Any thoughts on this? Is it worlds of difference? Are the 8’s 50% of the output, or 75%? Just a ballpark impression would be helpful. Also assume both ported boxes.

Even if you add just a subwoofer and mono block you will still need a good loc or dsp. So either 100-125 dollars for a quality loc or 150 for the dsp if you want it for a future upgrade for the door speakers and what not.

You can get a 2 or 4 channel amplifiers like Taramps for 100 bucks and a SFB 1K for 190 or if you want Taramps they make a lower cost monoblock as well for 100-150 for your subwoofer. Plus you have to figure in a wiring kit as well, distribution block and rca cables.

If you do just a subwoofer you will need that loc or dsp, plus wiring kit, rca cables, monoblock amplifier and I would do a distribution block just for a future upgrade so it is there if you want it. Along with having a box built, you can contact buck for the design once you choose a subwoofer or he can help you there. If you want to then take that design to the local shop and have them build it for you since you said you don't want to. Don't buy some prefab junk as it won't be tuned right for the music you listen to or the subwoofer as it is just a general kind all purpose and they are never set at the hz they claim if they say 35 figure closer to 40hz or so.
Question on DSPs, in my scenario of adding an amp subs and dsp while still using the factory head unit and speakers, does the DSP output to the factory speakers as well, or just the subs?

does the DSP output to the factory speakers as well, or just the subs?