Adding Bass to factory Systems - I'm a noob

DJin TX

CarAudio.com Recruit
Houston
Ok, so I'm new here, first post, and new to car audio. My only experience was in high school. Had a very basic system put in my mustang (2 small Sabre Sound brand subs in ported boxes with an amplifier and an Alpine head unit, and a couple of 5 inch coaxial alpine door speakers). I bought these used off a buddy and had them installed. But to be clear, I know mostly nothing. That same buddy knew some, but more importantly had virtually unlimited funds and spent tons of his parent's money on a very powerful system. At the time he had a pair of alpine's most expensive competition-grade 12 in subs in a custom ported box powered by a high end alpine amp, 6 disk changer, and alpine full range speakers all through his car. Not only did it sound amazing, it also had unbelievable amounts of clear powerful, bone-rattling bass.

So, fast forward 30 years to now, and I am interested in having a solid system. I do not want to enter any competitions, and I do not want to annoy the neighbors, or rattle everyone's windows. I plan to buy a new silverado crew cab in the next 6 months, and would like to add a respectable amount of bass, to play all types of music, and sometimes pump some decent bass. I don't want to spend much (under $1000, maybe less). TO keep costs low, I want to keep the head unit/infotainment that comes with the truck to maintain all functionality of the back up cameras and other systems. Also, if I can keep the OEM full range speakers and only add the bass I am wanting, then that would save more money. I just want the sound to blend well and be balanced. To this end, I have many questions: