67' Camaro sound system. Help

Participant count
  • Participant list

jiggernaut

67 camaro am radio
Hi,

Noob here.

I'm reaching the car audio point in my camaro build. My camaro's original head unit was a GM am radio it had one 5x7 speaker in the package tray and one speaker under the front dash. I would like to upgrade and I'm bewildered in the plathora of audio equipment available. Please, Help.

Currently, I purchased a Retrosound Model 2 head unit. The replica-head units aren't known for their sound quality but, I'm keeping the car period correct. The Model 2 looks the part.

The typical set up that doesn't require too much sheet metal work is 6.5 components in the kick panels or doors, two 6x9 speakers in the package tray, and one 10"sub in the trunk. My car has a big block, cam, and 3" exhaust. The engine/exhaust is pretty loud. So, I don't really see any added value in top shelf SQ speakers. I have dynamat and foam sheeting on the ready for sound deadening.

I found a craigslist deal on two Memphis audio amps, MR4.480 and MR1.1200 for 300$. Good amps? Too much wattage? good deal? any thoughts let me know!

Same goes for the speakers, a friend of mine recommends Focal access line. I've bought and have been satistfied with 6.5 Memphis Audio components in my truck. Sonicelectronic has good reviews on some low end kicker speakers. But, I don't really know. I want to keep the speaker/amp investment

Trunk space is limited. The spare tire is in the trunk. One 10 or 12 sub and box will fit easily. Two will be a squeeze.

Thanks in advance, Landon

Last edited by a moderator:
6.5"splits in the kick panels, two way coax in the rear shelf 6", and prob a 12"sub if you can fit it. (custom ported box)

I am yet to listen to a system that has 6x9's and a sub that sounds half decent.

Definitely need pics of this car!