why get a radiator?battery?

Participant count
  • Participant list

xjmadness
10+ year member

The beauty of green
ATL
is it necessary to get a new ALTERNATOR/battery if im getting 2 12" 1000w max subs and a 2000w amp? if so how much do they cost?

i have a 97 cherokee any help wolud be appreciated

EDIT: i meant an alternator not a radiator LoL:banghead: //content.invisioncic.com/y282845/emoticons/banghead.gif.8606515f668c74f6de0281deb475b6fd.gif :banghead: //content.invisioncic.com/y282845/emoticons/banghead.gif.8606515f668c74f6de0281deb475b6fd.gif :banghead:

//content.invisioncic.com/y282845/emoticons/confused.gif.e820e0216602db4765798ac39d28caa9.gif i dont know thats why im asking ??//content.invisioncic.com/y282845/emoticons/confused.gif.e820e0216602db4765798ac39d28caa9.gif

how much would a new alternator cost and how muhc would it be to getting it rewound?

what are the benefits of doing tihs? sorry im a newb at car audio

getting it rewound would probably be the cheaper and first thing to try....u can usually get them rewound at like any alt. store.....usually like 50 or 60 bucks max....as for the new alt...it all depends on how many ampers your going to need....easist way to find out is to find out how many ampers your car draws w/ everything running.....find out the max. ampers that the amplifier will draw....add them together and if they excede the max output of your alt i would recomend getting one/rewinding one to slightly more than the above number....and the benifits will be no straining electrical system ie... no dimming of lights....no car running rougher cause its not getting enough/struggling w/ other systems for power....all in all its better....also make sure u upgrade your power and ground wires if u get a new alt(at least the size of the power wire for the amplifier...good luck