Who's sick of "what should I get" threads?

pyrofreak
10+ year member

.......cuz here's another one.

I'm sorry for bothering you guys. I'm a relative noob to audio, but I've learned quite a bit from both your site and bcae1.com. I know that you guys must hate seeing the same old threads over and over asking the same old S***. On other forums I belong to, I hate it when they don't bother searching before they ask the **** question, so I know how you guys feel. I've search and have read countless threads multiple times and it's starting to kill me/overload. I don't want to base solely on specs. There's good information in between the biases that everyone else has. What compounds the problem is that I don't know anyone who's running the speakers that I want to listen to.

Here's the problem(s): I've kinda narrowed down the choices to CDT hd, edi 6500, rainbow slc, and the long shot focal 165kfs, (which I heard at tweeters). My budget is up to $300 or $350, but of course, the cheaper the better. Someone on another forum is selling the used edi for less than $200. That sounds like a great deal for something that is supposed to be similar, according to the reviews, to the cdt. However, the rainbows seems to be the current hot speakers for quality and value. The focals I kinda threw in there b/c they were the only non-mainstream speaker I listened to, even though it's out of my price range.

btw, I'll be powering them later with an 2ch amp at 100wrms x2 @ 4ohm. Most likely I'll be running in a passive crossover ( i think that's the one). I probably will tune the set up once, and when it's set, I won't be messing around with it afterwards.

In review:

1) Should I pick up the edi6500 b/c it's a deal too good to pass up?

2) Should I spend a little more for the rainbows b/c it's that much better of a speaker?

3) **** it and spend the $$$ elsewhere.

Thanks and sorry for the long post. I've been writing essays 2 days straight and it's starting to get to me.

-Brian