What are my best options????

Participant count
  • Participant list

Texas
10+ year member

Hello everyone..

I'm new to the car audio scene and am in search of advice from people with actual knowledge and firsthand experience!

Heres my situation:

I have 1000$ to spend on:

1 or 2 subwoofers

an amplifer

a wiring kit

installation ( need advice on where )

a box

My car is a 2008 Mustang Gt/Cs The subwoofer will of course be going into the trunk

I have drove my self nuts to the point to where I just want the opinion from other people on what I need to get... all the reviews on websites such as crutchfield and sonicelectronix dont really give me what im looking for..

What I'm looking for is quality and durability.. I'm not out to win any contests, I just want a solid HARD hitting system that I can be proud of.

Ive heard good things about: Orion HCCA, DC audio, Sundown audio, JL audio and a few others..

Your knowlege is what I seek !

Also I will say I want my trunk to remain clean looking, which has led me to consider using a box such as https://www.supercrewsound.com/commerce/product.jsp?prodId=437&catId=130 --- problem being I dont know if this is a quality box or not, although its the look im going for, basically stock looking but able to handle a good system.

If you want to go with a sealed box like that, then you need to find subs that work well in sealed boxes. A few come to mind, depending on how much money you want to spend, power you'll need to use, and possibly a little bit of electrical upgrades like the Big 3(search for it) and a small battery in the back.

Lower budget, lower power

subs: Dayton RSS315HFA-8 12" Reference HF Subwoofer 8 Ohm | Parts-Express.com

amp: REFURB Cadence ZRS2002 1600 Watt 2-Channel Amplifier - eBay (item 290507719966 end time Dec-09-10 14:11:20 PST)

Mid budget, higher power

subs: IXL-12 v2 SL [iXL-12 v2 SL] - $169.00 : Mach 5 Audio (choose D1 coils)