System Build Advice Needed - 2008 Mercury Mariner

Solace64

Okay guys, I have a 2008 Mercury Mariner with the In-Dash Navigation and the "premium" sound package. I believe the stock system is 4 - 5x7's in the 4 doors, tweeters built into the fronts, and then the stock sub in the back. One of the front speakers blew, so I replaced the two front speakers with Memphis Audio Coaxial 5x7's.

At this point I want more out of the system, so I am looking for advice.

I listen to Heavy Metal / Hard Rock so I like a quick clear punch from my bass, not long and drawn out. I also am looking for high quality sound, not just something that is loud. I'm fairly new to car audio so I don't really know which direction I should go in.

What sub(s) / amp combo should I look for? As I said before I want it to be loud and hit hard, but still be clean.

It's a given I'll replace the stock speakers in the rear doors, but do I need an amp for the door speakers?

Thanks for any advice, like I said Im a newbie so I appreciate it.

Vince.

you need a budget to work with. yes you'll need an amp. find a nice comp set for the front and move the coax's to the back. i think you'd like a couple 10's. .... maaaybe 12's. i think anything bigger and they'll start to get too "boomy" of a sound for you.

Well, my intent wasn't necessarily to do it all at once, but possibly in stages. I like to purchase things right the first time, so good high quality components, while being within reason.

I know that's not a exactly budget, but does it help at all?

To be honest, I'm not even familiar with the price points of quality components. Would $1000 be realistic for a good Component set for the front, plus subs and amp?

P.S. I almost forgot to mention I have a set of 10" Sony Explode subs, with an amp as well that I got for free and were in my old car. Are these crap, or decent subs? I believe they are ... Sony XS-L102P5