Stock Head Unit Tweeter Buzz

Participant count
  • Participants list

reipan

This is my first post, I'd appreciate any advice //content.invisioncic.com/y282845/emoticons/biggrin.gif.d71a5d36fcbab170f2364c9f2e3946cb.gif

I have a 2009 Lancer Ralliart with the basic CD player (no sub or amp). It's pretty low end, 14W speakers (not sure what the HU spec is). I chose to upgade speakers first and installed Alpine SPR-60s in the rear doors and SPR-60Cs in the front doors/A pillar.

I'm now getting a buzz from the tweeters (front & rear) now which wasn't there with the stock speakers. old speakers 4ohm, new speakers are 4ohm. checked all wiring and connections for shorts loose connections. i get the buzz at any volume and with or without the engine running. Stock HU ground seems OK.

I'm an electrician but a car audio noob, not sure what is causing the buzzing.

I plan to upgrade the HU to an Alpine iDA-X305S in a few months, will the problem go away with a decent HU? My stock HU is crap, is it to week to drive the new higher wattage speakers therefore causing the buzz?

It's worse on certain songs and happens with CDs and ipod plugged into aux input. any help trouble shooting or advice would be greatly appreciated!

Cheers

sounds like interference or grounding problems. could also be wiring issues.

Trace your steps again and make sure all speakers are wired right and nothing is grounded out.

Also, if your stock speakers are not coaxial, then the sound might have been there the whole time, but your old speakers wherent able to reproduce the tone. If so, then it might also be a headunit problem.

i think you are right to be suspect of the factory radio.

if it was front only then i'd expect some EMF with the crossover's inductors and would suggest moving them.

my advice is usually to replace the head unit before the speakers, since the factory head unit will be insufficient to power aftermarket speakers.