Replacing the Speakers on an Older Car

chickenderp

Canada
I have a '77 lincoln continental that I bought a while ago, and I'm looking into replacing the speakers in the rear and front. My car has two on the rear package tray and one in each door panel. I got the speakers out easy enough, but I have some questions regarding my choice of speakers. Btw I'm a complete noob to car audio, so I apologize for ignorance.

The speakers that came out of my car are 3.2 ohms. How much leeway do I have in this regard, and how do I know if the speakers I'm buying are the right impedance? Does it matter if I get 2 or 3-way speakers? Will 3-way speakers work on the stock wiring, or do I have to run extra wire for those? Lastly, is the brand/model of speaker that important? I'm not planning on a huge upgrade here, I just want it to sound decent and be long lasting. I don't really want to spend more than $100 on all 4 speakers, but my budget is flexible if the cheap speakers are rubbish.

I should mention that so far I've only looked on crutchfield.com, because it has a function to search for speakers that will fit your specific car. I'd hate to have to modify the mounting brackets too much, so I liked this feature. I can supply more information about my car if you guys need it too. Thanks!

$100 for all 4 soeakers won't get you much. cheap speakers are just that...CHEAP.

what size speakers does your lincoln use? and you'll b powering them off the factory radio?

My fronts are 5-1/4" and my rears are 6" x 9". I think there's a little bit of leeway though if I did modify the mounts, especially in the back where there's plenty of room. I would power it off the factory radio. If all that's for sale under $100 is garbage I'd be open to suggestions also.