Noob needs help with new system and compatibility

Participant count
  • Participant list

Skinzy98

So I have a 2001 mustang with the mach 460 system. I know that it runs on 8- ohms and needs to be rewired with new amps to get after market speakers to work. I'm looking at purchasing a Kenwood kac-8406 4 channel amp that puts out 900 wats max. I want to hook up my two pairs of 6x8 kicker 41DSC684 d-series 400 watt 2 way 4 ohm subs with tweeters. I would like to hook up my two kicker 41cst204 3/4" cs series tweeters to my Sony head unit which puts out around 175 watts. Is this a decent setup. Will the 6x8 kickers subs with tweeter work well with that amp? I am extremely new to car audio but I love high quality sound (very into it in the mobile phone world. No my way around an equalizer decently). My car right now is super bassy because there are four subs stock from Ford and only two tweeters. Any help? Sorry if this is a basic question i m just really confused and people started mentioning rms and I'm lost lol. Thanks for any help.

Kicker and high sound quality doesn't belong in the same sentence. You mentioned 8ohm, but that's irrelevant if you're replacing the amp(s) AND speakers. You mentioned the mach 460, the stock Hu runs the front and the rear tweeters and a pair of amps run the rest. You can hook it up like that or run everything off the Kenwood amp, which is what I'd do personally. Hate you be the bearer of bad news but your Sony Hu isn't putting out 175w, you'd be lucky to get 15w.