Noob needing some guidance on sub/amp combo (BLOWN SUB??!)

Participant count
  • Participant list

alanna.gray03

Okay, so I'm new to the car audio world, so be easy! I've always loved bass and loud, good quality music, and I've had my car for 6 1/2 years now and decided it was time I jump in head first and update my whole sound system in my Toyota Corolla '09 Sport model. I've had some help from a couple of friends and my brother though.

I just recently invested in:

-Alpine CDE-153BT CD Reciever

-Kicker (300 watt peak power) 2-way front door/rear deck speakers

-Alpine Type R 12" sub (SWR-12D4)

-Kicker KX800.1 amp with Rockville wiring kit

(If you do not want to read the background story, just jump down a couple of paragraphs to get to my main issue. Background story and info is there so it wont be so confusing and maybe you'll better understand the situation.)

I was satisfied with all of my purchases, and just this past Monday night (9/14) finished putting the whole system together. I love my new stereo and door speakers...that alone was an awesome upgrade and I have no complaints on those whatsoever. HOWEVER, the sub/amp combo and details on that are still a bit fuzzy for me. I am new to this, but my brother has some experience with car audio systems, as he's had a few of his own back in the day...and we both have our fair share of common sense and knowledge, but we are by no means professionals (as you all could probably guess). We have done our own research, watched numerous videos and discussed everything we've done on the system.