Complete Noob Needs Help

txjeep

CarAudio.com Newbie
Texas
I apologize upfront if this is a stupid set of questions. I do not know much about how all this works.
The vehicle is a 1981 Jeep Scrambler. I would like to get decent audio out of that loud environment with the top up or down.

I decided to add 2 6x9 speakers to the four originally planned and therefore would like advice on the bast way to connect everything. I assume a 2nd amp but what about DSP and channel tuning?

can I make this good for less than an additional $800?

Here is what I have:

Head unit - Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503
6 RCA Out - 6 Channel Preamp outputs
4 Speaker level outputs

Front Dash Speakers - 2x Polk Audio DB 522
5.25 inch 2-way
100 watts RMS
Frequency range 55-22,000 Hz
Sensitivity 91 dB
Mounted behind cutouts in metal dash with Speaker Baffles

Front Floor Speakers - 2x Polk Audio MM 522
5.25 inch 2-way
80 watts RMS
Frequency range 50-40,000 Hz
Sensitivity 92 dB
Mounted in Select Increments Centra-Pod

Behind Seat Speakers - 2x Polk Audio MM 692
6x9 inch 3-way
150 watts RMS
Frequency range 30-40,000 Hz
Sensitivity 94 dB
Mounted in ABS housings against bulkhead

Subwoofer - 1x Polk Audio DB 842 SVC
8 inch 4-ohm
250 watts RMS
Frequency Response 30-200 Hz
Sensitivity 84 dB
Mounted in Select Increments Intra-Pod Center Console

Amplifier - Kicker 42PXA5001
250 watts RMS x 1 at 4 ohms
Frequency Response 25-120 Hz
Switchable low-pass filter (60, 80, 100 or 120Hz at 24 dB / octave)
KickEQ Bass Boost (Selectable 0dB or +6dB centered at 40 Hz
Fixed subsonic filter (25 Hz, 24 dB / octave)
Fuse 40A x 1
Mounted in Select Increments Intra-Pod Center Console bottom cavity

Last edited:
Always trying to solve my own problems, I have come this far but have a lot of questions:

OPTION 1: 4 channel amp - Like Kicker KMA360.4
Connect 4 RCA outputs from head to amp inputs
Connect 4 x front speakers to 2 channels speaker outputs
Connect 2 x rear to 2 channels