Newbie looking for the best budget system.

Klutz

Ok, so basically I am brand new to the whole idea of putting a system in a car. I am looking for something to make all my friends at my high school envy me for no more than 700 dollars. If possible I want at least 2 12" subs and 2 10" subs. If not possible then I just want 2 12" or bigger subs. Also obviously a nice amp or two for all of it.

Concentrate on a really good amp first, before you look at subs. CT Sounds Stratos, American Bass XFL, PowerBass 3XL, all very nicely priced subs that will surely make your friends turn a head! The most important thing when doing an install, is the enclosure. You can have $2000 worth of subs/amps and if you are using the wrong box, it will sound like poo! Get two 12's that are priced at like $120ea., then use the rest of the cash for a custom enclosure, a good amp and some good 1/0ga. wiring. If you don't have a head unit already, $700 may be a little low for what you're looking for.

Yes. Luckily I did a pontiac transport that got pretty loud for cheap a year or so ago. I might have some parts to help you left over. I could lead you to a decent beginners system that would sound ok for about 700. It could get pretty loud. It could get you by for sure.

Stock head unit won't be much good. You COULD run a line converter and use it, but your input signal will most likely be distorted. Decent head units can be had for pretty cheap. Pioneer makes great head units at a very low price, that are good for beginners and have nice features. Make sure which ever head unit you purchase has a dedicated sub preout.... Stay away from cheap brands, Boss, VR3, Pyle, etc. You will need all the power/ground wiring, RCA's, remote wire, speaker wire, etc. For $700, I would find a combo on eBay or something, as you probably have no box building experience, plus the combos come with everything. Again, stay away from cheap brands. I can look around quick for some decent combos....