Newbie here - can someone please help me decide on proper components for my system

Participant count
  • Participant list

spidr-

Hi everyone,

I'm fairly new to the car audio system scene-- I'm all honesty I don't know much about anything when it comes to picking out amps, speakers, subs, watts, ohm and all that stuff so any help would be greatly appreciated. I had a system installed in my old car but it just something I picked off the shelf at BestBuy and had them install it.

I just bought a 2015 Ford Edge Sport Edition and wanted to install a system in it. I do have two amps that I took from my old car and they are listed as follows:

1. Alpine MRP-F300 (this was powering the speakers)

2. Alpine MRP-M500 (this was powering one 10" sub)

The sound in my old system was good, not great. There wasn't a whole lot of bass and the highs/mids were decent but couldn't been a little louder.

My question(s):

1. What would be the best way to incorporate these two amps in to my new system?

2. If I want a louder and more crisp sound, should I use these two amps to power my subs and then purchase two more amps for the from and rear speakers?

2. Ideally (now that I have a larger vehicle) I'd like to have a larger (or more) subs. Would I be looking for a 12" enclosure or maybe two 10"? I'm not sure.

3. Speakers - how do I know what speakers are compatible (power handling) with the amps I currently have or if I choose to purchase two new amps for the speakers?

4. Generally what is a good (loud/crisp) wattage that an amp should be able to power for each channel?

5. If I buy another amp that has 500w of total output to 4 channels, how exactly does it work? Will my speakers need to be 125w speakers to be able to handle that amp? If I purchase two additional 500w amps (for example) and want to power my rear speakers with one amp and the fronts with the other, will i need 250w speakers to get the best sound?