New to car audio, suggest some subs for me please :-)

Participant count
  • Participant list

kabosh
10+ year member

I am pretty new to car audio, so I would just like some sub woofer suggestions for my situation. I have a BRZ1200 that i was using to push a 12" L7 at 2 ohms. I want to get a new sub and push it at 1 ohm. I have been arguing with my self about 3 subs, fi ssd, Q, and BL. My budget is pretty much between 450-500 for the sub and custom box. I am looking for something that bangs atleast as hard as my L7 but cleaner. Thats pretty much it. All suggestions are welcome :)

Also I have no plans on replacing my sub at the moment, but most likely in the future, so getting a sub that could handle more if I wanted couldnt hurt.

Last edited by a moderator:
I am pretty new to car audio, so I would just like some sub woofer suggestions for my situation. I have a BRZ1200 that i was using to push a 12" L7 at 2 ohms. I want to get a new sub and push it at 1 ohm. I have been arguing with my self about 3 subs, fi ssd, Q, and BL. My budget is pretty much between 450-500 for the sub and custom box. I am looking for something that bangs atleast as hard as my L7 but cleaner. Thats pretty much it. All suggestions are welcome :)
If it is clean bass you want, you would achieve more gains by researching amps bro....look for 2 decimal places in THD and at least a high 3 digit number in Dampening factor..get the power you need at higher ohms so the amp will be more stable and efficient, reduce audible harmonic distortion introduced by the amp(THD) and get more control over the sub(dampening factor)...these will be the most efficient gains you can make to your system...only then will you actually hear the sub as it was designed...as long as the box is right.