New set up question

Participant count
  • Participant list

Jvs
10+ year member

Hey guys

I'm new to the car audio scene and I had a few questions. Firstly: so I'm running two old 12 inch Rockford punch xlc's with a 1000 watt Kenwood amp and I currently have the two subs hooked up to the corresponding right and left speaker inputs in the amp. Could I possibly install both positive and both negative connections for the subs into the bridged terminal and get more sound?

Second: I've seen that there are some devices used to do tuning and check for distortion and what not, is there any way I can do this myself? If I took it in and had it done at a shop how much would they charge?

Third: this is more of a car question but after the installation of everything I noticed my passenger side mirror won't open when I push the button the in the drivers side (it does work on the passenger side for the passenger side though)

Finally: man i gotta say, it helped so much having an aftermarket deck installed vs doing a LOC! I was amazed at how much easier it made things having a deck with RCAs and adjustable subwoofer controls built into it. Not to mention how good it made my stock speakers on my scion tc sound

Jeff

You can wire those subs poss to poss/neg to neg, to the bridging terminals of the amplifier..that amp/majority of newer amps should be 2 ohms mono stable..just be sure to turn your gain down and switch on lpf,and bass boost down 3 or less,and make your adjustments for the bass on the hu,in which i recommend loud button off and no more than 3 on bass level,and go from there setting gain.

It has been much nicer to have rca connections on the hu these days..much easier/less frustrating,and less time consuming

as for the mirror switch??could be a connection issue on drivers side control?? just a possibility without being ther to experience the issue. might need check fuse panel also,for blown fuse?