New Car....need help on 1st SQ build

Participant count
  • Participant list

Topless Stang
10+ year member

Florida
Hello everyone. I've been a long term lurker on these forums and has gotten some great info, but now I figure I'd post far enough in advance of my next build to take suggestions into consideration.

I've been around the block several times as far as installs and equipment go, but this is my first attempt at an SQ build. I picked up a Chevy Vault last week and I'm currently researching what to use for my next build. I cant do anything as far as the H/U goes so I planned to use a system integration DSP & to that end I already picked up a JBL MS-8. I had originally planned to just go all Alpine and pick up the Type-R components for the front, the coaxials for the rear and a shallow mount Type-R 12 since I want to maximize space. I planned on picking up an Alpine PDX-V9 to power it all. After reading a few things I'm thinking of going Active for the first time.

I was thinking of using the MS8's internal amp to power the tweets and the Alpine to power the mids, coaxials and sub. Without spending a lot more is this a decent setup? If I shouldn't use the MS 8 to power the tweets what would you folks recommend as a good, cheap tweet amp? Being an electric car I'd like to keep energy consumption low...so I was thinking a class D tweeter amp? I want to get the most bang for my buck using new speakers, not interested in picking up used speakers for a good price. There also does not to be much info out there on what fits my ride, but I was able to find a few threads that had installs done and one of them used the Alpine speakers. In my Mustang I have Hertz Energy comps & coaxials installed in a passive setup and was pleased, but wanted something different. What are the thoughts from the experts here?

Since you don't need crossovers... save yourself some money and get raw drivers. You will wind up with better drivers and more suited to what you need.