New amp setup powered but not working...


Pohnjarker

CarAudio.com Newbie
Oct 20, 2018
13
0
I hooked up a new Sony DSX B700 in my new 2011 Civic. It works great.

I hooked up the amp correctly but no output.

Power from battery, ground to back panel, remote wire from blue/white wire on radio, and RVCs from radio.

I have a remote bass knob that is not hooked up because the old cable is in the car I sold and its thinner than a regular phone cable so I'm working on that.

Could that be why I'm getting no sub sound? The amp is getting power as the light is on but no sub...

Any ideas?
 

Popwarhomie

CarAudio.com Elite VIP
5,000+ posts
10+ year member
Jan 22, 2010
9,113
1,687
FL
Not familiar with that head unit but does it have a "subwoofer on" setting?

You can use a 3.5mm Aux to RCA cable and connect your phone to the amps RCA inputs to see if its a headunit or amp issue.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Pohnjarker

Pohnjarker

CarAudio.com Newbie
Oct 20, 2018
13
0
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #3
It has sub settings but I've tried them all. I'll grab a 3.5 to rca cable when I can.
 

Beerad93

CarAudio.com Newbie
Jan 5, 2021
22
2
California
I hooked up a new Sony DSX B700 in my new 2011 Civic. It works great.

I hooked up the amp correctly but no output.

Power from battery, ground to back panel, remote wire from blue/white wire on radio, and RVCs from radio.

I have a remote bass knob that is not hooked up because the old cable is in the car I sold and its thinner than a regular phone cable so I'm working on that.

Could that be why I'm getting no sub sound? The amp is getting power as the light is on but no sub...

Any ideas?
This happened to me before...I would look at the headunit and see if the sub setting is turned off. Not sure about Sony but on a pioneer I had to go into the head unit and turn on the sub output. In the audio settings locate anything that's related to the sub woofer and you find it where you can set the phase as off, normal, reverse. Something like that. Thats my 2 cents. I'm no pro but this happened to me and to a friend of mine as well.
 

Louisiana_CRX

dem shoes......
5,000+ posts
10+ year member
Aug 22, 2006
39,528
472
Piney Hills of Louisiana
Sounds like sub level in deck may be turned all the way down ...
 
  • Like
Reactions: Beerad93

Pohnjarker

CarAudio.com Newbie
Oct 20, 2018
13
0
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #6
So I've checked every sub setting in the deck and nothing changed.

I picked up the 3.5 to rca cable and used my phone and I'm getting a little bit more sub than with my deck.

Its like there's bass but it's turned down...

I ordered a new bass knob that came with the amp since my amp requires a smaller jack than an rj11...so we'll see.

Thanks for all the ideas!
 

Beerad93

CarAudio.com Newbie
Jan 5, 2021
22
2
California
So I've checked every sub setting in the deck and nothing changed.

I picked up the 3.5 to rca cable and used my phone and I'm getting a little bit more sub than with my deck.

Its like there's bass but it's turned down...

I ordered a new bass knob that came with the amp since my amp requires a smaller jack than an rj11...so we'll see.

Thanks for all the ideas!
If it's like any other amp with a bass knob...that knob should be optional. What amp are you running now? Did you have an amp powering a sub before you put the new HU in and hooked up this new amp. You said the amp turns on and with the 3.5mm to rca you get slightly more output? Looks like some type of signal problem coming. And you checked the head unit settings. I've never had a bad RCA but maybe you could have a bad one. Can you check the voltage coming off the RCA from your HU?
 

Pohnjarker

CarAudio.com Newbie
Oct 20, 2018
13
0
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #10
The gains were set up when I installed the sub in my old car. All I did was take it out of that car and put it in the new one.

Do I need to set the gains again?
 

LsGuy

Manila Gorilla
Sep 11, 2020
403
108
Ohio
Well, it's free and easy. That would be the first thing I check since you've verified the subs are actually working.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Beerad93

Pohnjarker

CarAudio.com Newbie
Oct 20, 2018
13
0
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #12
If it's like any other amp with a bass knob...that knob should be optional. What amp are you running now? Did you have an amp powering a sub before you put the new HU in and hooked up this new amp. You said the amp turns on and with the 3.5mm to rca you get slightly more output? Looks like some type of signal problem coming. And you checked the head unit settings. I've never had a bad RCA but maybe you could have a bad one. Can you check the voltage coming off the RCA from your HU?
If the bass knob doesn't fix it, ill check the RCAs next.

The sub is on with the radio and to me, it sounds like it did when it was turned down by the bass knob. Its the same when hooked my phone up via 3.5 to rca but only slightly more so I'm wondering if the slight difference is because I had my phone volume turned up....shit, I dont know.

The car was stock before I upgraded the radio and sub all at once.
 

LsGuy

Manila Gorilla
Sep 11, 2020
403
108
Ohio
If the bass knob doesn't fix it, ill check the RCAs next.

The sub is on with the radio and to me, it sounds like it did when it was turned down by the bass knob. Its the same when hooked my phone up via 3.5 to rca but only slightly more so I'm wondering if the slight difference is because I had my phone volume turned up....shit, I dont know.

The car was stock before I upgraded the radio and sub all at once.
I've never heard of an amp where the lack of a bass knob limited maximum volume. Just go outside and turn the gain up a little, see if that helps. If so, learn how to set it and the set it properly. If not, report back here.
 

Beerad93

CarAudio.com Newbie
Jan 5, 2021
22
2
California
The gains were set up when I installed the sub in my old car. All I did was take it out of that car and put it in the new one.

Do I need to set the gains again?
Yes indeed set your gain again. Definitely look up how to do that like you said you would. Or like another suggested go outside turn on some music and turn up gain slightly. See if that helps. If so, cool adjust them properly after that. Your gain will need to be set higher or lower depending on which HU you are using and how the amp sees the signal. You could have had a HU with a higher voltage on the output. Hope you figure this out. Music is better when your shit is hooked up right and you have some bass 🤘🤙🤙
 
  • Like
Reactions: Pohnjarker

LsGuy

Manila Gorilla
Sep 11, 2020
403
108
Ohio
Is this the same radio you ran previously? I see the rca outs are only 2v, that could be an issue. What amp and sub are you running?
 

Pohnjarker

CarAudio.com Newbie
Oct 20, 2018
13
0
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #19
After tuning it with my voltmeter and it not changing I made a USB stick of music and put that in...

Now it's booming like before...

The radio doesn't boom but the USB does so I dont know...but its working so imma leave it alone.
 

LsGuy

Manila Gorilla
Sep 11, 2020
403
108
Ohio
After tuning it with my voltmeter and it not changing I made a USB stick of music and put that in...

Now it's booming like before...

The radio doesn't boom but the USB does so I dont know...but its working so imma leave it alone.
Put the USB in where, the radio?
 

Create an account or login to comment

You must be a member in order to leave a comment

Create account

Create an account on our community. It's easy!

Log in

Already have an account? Log in here.


Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 2)



Newest threads

Most posts - Past 30 days

Latest classifieds