Need 2 10' subs to replace current subs

STIorDIE
10+ year member

Hey guys. I'm an audio noob and just picked up this setup all for $100. Rockford Fosgate P8002 Amp with Subs in Box. I was looking to replace both subs with a matching set since one of them is cracked. I'm looking to spend no more than $500. He has 1 channel hooked to each sub at 2 ohms. I'll also be running these through a kenwood kdc-x994. What subs would you suggest? I listen to mostly rock, punk, metal, and rap.

So far I'm considering the Rockford Fosgate Punch P3D210, soundstream picasso, and JL Audio 10W3v3-2

Well if ur gonna spend up to 500 on subs then ur gonna want a different box, and youl get much more output that way. Also what are you wanting sound quality, killer bass to piss off ppl and impress your friends. What? Also not much point in spending a ton on new subs and keeping that amp which will under power them.

400x2 @ 2 ohm is plenty of power imho. Not everyone needs 3krms and a battery bank to go boom //content.invisioncic.com/y282845/emoticons/wink.gif.608e3ea05f1a9f98611af0861652f8fb.gif

But as on1wheel01 mentioned, it'd help to know if you want sound quality or to be loud.

As far as quality, Image Dynamics makes a nice selection of woofers that can excel with that power.

Also, i second the notion that you should build a new box to optimize whatever subs you do get. Materials shouldn't cost more than 30-40$

hmm. i'm looking for mostly sound quality but something that'll go boom. Whats the max rms i should go on the subs if i'm gonna be running 400rms at 2 ohms from the amp. I don't want to be blowing out my subs.

hmm. i'm looking for mostly sound quality but something that'll go boom. Whats the max rms i should go on the subs if i'm gonna be running 400rms at 2 ohms from the amp. I don't want to be blowing out my subs.
The amp will do 800 watts rms @ 4 ohms bridged. I'd probably do a 15" IA Flatlyne if I were in your shoes...