my tuning is off by 10 hertz please help!!

chazer188

im playing 45 hertz but it designed for 35 hertz im not understanding why my tuneing is so off i did the figues online i have an L port design the port length and width as well as height matches to 34 to 35 hertz i wasnt sure if making the upper part of the L port smaller will put me down the 35 or put me higher. i just real could use some help in anyway..my caculations are from the 12 volt.com site im pretty new to this and i bulit my box myself my box is 3.6 cubic feet

from the bottom of the L port to the top is 6.25 inchs high

the over all height is 10.625

4.5 inchs wide

the long part of the l port is 19 inchs

but over all is 25.125

WILL SOMEONE PLEASE HELP ME I HAVE COMP IN 1 WEEK!!!!!! //content.invisioncic.com/y282845/emoticons/wallbash.gif.1310150c49dd52e0fbe1813a0681e5c3.gif

Looks like low 30's tuning to me. What precisely is happening? What sub? Pics would help. what do you mean looks like low 30s? i have digital design 2512. and i cant figure how to attach any photos right now

Couple things

1.Why do you want to tune at 35hz for a comp, your 45 hz tune will almost always be louder, most vehicles peak in the mid 40's.

2.How do you know your tuned at 45hz, where your box is loudest is NOT where you are tuned

3.What sub/subs are you using, a layout of you setup could be a little more enlightening (sounds like 1 15, but IDK)

As has been mentioned, where the box is tuned doesn't necessarily mean that's where it will peak. What you'll need to look for is the half-wave of your vehicle (which is likely 40-50hz range) then tune the box accordingly to make a peak there with whatever sub you're using.

Do you own an SPL meter? Where's pics?

Couple things

1.Why do you want to tune at 35hz for a comp, your 45 hz tune will almost always be louder, most vehicles peak in the mid 40's.

2.How do you know your tuned at 45hz, where your box is loudest is NOT where you are tuned