How long can i run peak power

Participant count
  • Participant list

Mr.D

CarAudio.com Newbie
Miami
Hello I have 2 12 kicker L7s. RMS power is 1500w and peak is 3000w. My question is how long can I safely run the peak power? I feel like the 1500 watts is not enough but it's OK for regular use. When I give it the 3000 watts it really shines but I'm scared for how long I can keep it there. Just trying to show off for a minute or 2. Would like some input on this as I'm fairly new to this. Thanks in advance!
20210420_183342_HDR.jpg

Peak power is largely a bogus rating, it really doesn't mean anything.

Kickers really shine in big boxes. You put those subs in a 5-6 cubic foot or so net box, they'll be way louder. I'd be willing to bet that box airspace is only like 2 cubes or less per woofer, probably closer to the minimal airspace. Not sure though. Kicker's typically don't need a ton of port area, and typically really do better with a lot of airspace. Those square Kickers act more like a 13.5" woofer, or a small box 15" round woofer, as far as cone area goes. The L7 15's are almost or close to the cone area of a round 18. I've done so many L5 and L7 12's in 2.5-3 cubes per woofer, and they get very very loud. So, you don't necessarily need more power, maybe you need a bigger box so the subs can actually move around more, like they're designed to.

A few of my L7 designs

We built and installed this one. I'll never forget this, I was 21 when I designed this box. The dude who we built it for, came back after the subs broke in some and we turned his amp up to full power. He got there, saw me hanging out, and he said to the shop owner, "That guy knows what he's doing." 😂 :geek:

Some people have never heard a proper sub box before, and they are surprised at what their woofers can do.

It's 3 L3 12's in like 2.25 per sub or so, did this 8 years ago:

Another 3 L7 12's:

4 L7 12's: