homemade bandpass.. design suggestions?

subboxmaker
10+ year member

Senior VIP Member
i finally bought the plexiglass and ports for it. When i installed the box and turned it up there is like a loud air noise coming thru the ports. does anyone have any idea why it is doing that? would it help if i installed more ports? because when i plug up a port it gets worse.. Any ideas or suggestions will be greatly appreciated. Thanks

if i can figure out how to post pics i will.

I'm not an expert, but from what an audiophile friend of mine told me many years ago is, your ports are too small (diameter wise).. you are trying to push air through them faster than they can easily flow.. if you increase the diameter, more air can flow in the same amount of time.. This should reduce the 'air noise' significantly..

I'd immagine you would have to make the ports shorter when you open the diameter.. not sure if your box will allow that or not.. And, I'm not sure if you would have to change the volume of the box on a bandpass for different porting.. but I'd immagine that math says you can keep all other things constant (box volume/tuned freq. etc) and get new values for just ports (increase diameter, see what you get for length).. the problem there is, you could physically pass limits (get a length of say, -2 inces for the port, but increasing/decreasing the volume of the box would bring it to the right side again)..

I'd say re-calc your port length on a bigger diameter and see what you come up with for numbers.. if it's doable, that should clear up your noise problem..

Hope that helps (and is right)

That's why I like calculators //content.invisioncic.com/y282845/emoticons/smile.gif.1ebc41e1811405b213edfc4622c41e27.gif

Thanks for the clarification..

(OH, and make sure the ports don't get too close to the bottom/inside of the box.. if there isn't enough room for the air to flow behind the port to get out, you might get noise again, or the tuning will probably go out the window..)