Help...no sound from speakers after Alpine HU installation!

Participant count
  • Participant list

Jdg784
10+ year member

Yep..I'm God
Alright, finally got my new HU a 7894 and yanked out the old sony. Pretty easy install I figured, hook up all the speaker wires..etc..etc. It worked fine for about 30 seconds then the sound from the speakers cut off. It was right after I had pressed the media xpander button. Thinking I had just muted it or something I started playing around w/the filters and turned MX back off. But it still had no sound, throughout all of this the subwoofers worked. It's like there's no signal going to my speakers. Could my factory amp be screwing things ups? It's a 97' F-150 Lariat w.the "Premium Sound System".

Also..I know the fuse/speakers aren't blown because when I went back out to the truck after about an hr of sitting and turned it on..it played for about 5 seconds then shut off.

Originally posted by Jdg784 Alright, finally got my new HU a 7894 and yanked out the old sony. Pretty easy install I figured, hook up all the speaker wires..etc..etc. It worked fine for about 30 seconds then the sound from the speakers cut off. It was right after I had pressed the media xpander button. Thinking I had just muted it or something I started playing around w/the filters and turned MX back off. But it still had no sound, throughout all of this the subwoofers worked. It's like there's no signal going to my speakers. Could my factory amp be screwing things ups? It's a 97' F-150 Lariat w.the "Premium Sound System".
If you have a "premium sound system", you might have an internal amp, I had the same thing, and had to bypass the amp.

Oh I know there's an internal amp, JBL I believe...but it's not really worth the metal its made of..I guess I'll just have to go back and check my wiring tommorow.