Help me improve!

Participant count
  • Participant list

Pimpala

Hello, this is my first post on here. Basically awhile ago I told my friend I wanted subwoofers and he ordered everything for me and I just paid him. After I got them though I started learning a lot more on my own about car audio in general. Anyways I have 2 Kenwood KFC-W3013PS and a Planet Audio AC2000.2 two channel amp. I'm basically looking for 2 12 or 15 inch subs and an amp to replace them. Quality is meaningful but I basically want to just bump as loud as I can for my money, I want my 04 Impala to rattle like an earthquake. I am looking to spend $500-$600 on both the subs and then however much a matching amp would cost for those. Thanks for your help!

how much space do you have to work with? What car? Is a custom ported enclosure included in that budget?

if your really want to get decently loud on the cheap and have a good amount of trunk space to work with, just spend 120$ more and add 2 more of those KFC subs you have and spend the rest on a good amp. like Q1-2200D (extremely worth it) and upgrade subs later if you want but you should get pretty **** loud with 4 12s in a trunk this is a video from @basswiigee ; one of the forum members that ran 4 of those exact subs you have in a sealed enclosure(easy and cheap to build) and it gets down pretty good.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YtyFmWXI94U&list=LLCQ1MqkfSOcRep6vDFWsWxg

That planet audio amp is pure junk and doesn't even come close to making 1/4 of its RMS power claims.
Always start with a quality amp first then subs later. You'll need a 0 gauge install kit for the amp and then a big 3 upgrade(google/youtube this up) later on when you get more money.