Have 2 new Alpine Type X's, thinking of switching for more SPL (DC level 3's?)

Sepeti522

CarAudio.com Newbie
Hey everyone, quick disclosure, I am a total noob but I appreciate any help.

So I have 2 Alpine type X's (the new ones) in a 2017 Chevy impala running on a JL Audio RD1000.1. I know that I'm underpowering them and will be upgrading my amp very soon (despite my amp showing my subs are clipping with them getting only half the power of their rms)  

So I really do like my subs, but I rushed myself into this system before doing some real research on actual good high quality brands (sundown, dc, deaf bonce, etc...) and I'm wondering if there are any subs in the 1000-1500 RMS range that would give me more SPL? I was thinking about the dc level 3's but I dont know how they compare to the x's since I've never been able to hear any other brands other than the mainstream brands (JL, RF, Kicker, Alpine...)?

Has anyone heard the new alpine X's and have a suggestion of anything in the same RMS range that would give me more SPL? 

Thanks for any help

Last edited by a moderator:
If you upgrade the amp to something more powerful you will need to upgrade the vehicle's electrical system. If you are clipping those type x's most likely the gain is set too high and that might be combined with voltage drop. 

Changing the subs won't fix your problems. 

If you upgrade the amp to something more powerful you will need to upgrade the vehicle's electrical system. If you are clipping those type x's most likely the gain is set too high and that might be combined with voltage drop. 

Changing the subs won't fix your problems.