Full system install / Full beginner - Please help!

Participant count
  • Participant list

JBB88

CarAudio.com Newbie
Hi all, I am a complete audio beginner and want to thank you in advance for any support offered! I also apologize for my long post.

I have a 1995 Nissan 240sx that I am planning to install a complete system in......in maybe a year or so. BUT, in the next month I am going to be installing sound deadening material and new carpet so I thought that it would be an opportune time to run any cables now that I would need when it comes time for the audio equipment. This way I won't have to go through the work of removing my seats and pulling up the carpet for a clean install later down the road.

After a ton of research and cost consideration, I've decided to run dynamat xtreme throughout the entire car (cheaper per sq. ft. versus damplifier pro and almost equivalent performance), and second skin luxury liner pro on top of it (i) in the door cards, (ii) under the front seats and floor area, (iii) under the rear "foot" area, and (iv) in the trunk, under a piece of mdf that I will be cutting to the shape of the trunk floor.

I do have a bunch of questions and my thoughts are a little jumbled so I will do my best to organize this logically and in a linear manner..

I have previously relocated my battery to the trunk. Its running a 4ga power cable from the trunk to a 150 amp fusible switch (https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00ITN38XG/?tag=caraudiocom-20) and then to the fuse box in the engine bay, where it goes to the alternator, etc. The switch was installed as part of an anti-theft measure so I can flip the switch in the trunk and there would be no power. I think when I did my engine swap I also had a power draw somewhere that I ran out of time to chase down so I used the switch to keep my battery from getting drained.