Existing install going into protect at high levels

ephmynus

CarAudio.com Newbie
I apologize for the long post but I’m absolutely lost. I have a 19 GTI, and installed my amp and sub nearly the same day I brought it home brand new. I’ve never had any issues and it’s been working 4 years no hiccups. Recently something has changed and I can’t figure it out. I am by no means a professional but I’ve always installed simple additions like this to my vehicles with no trouble.

My original setup in this car was an Infinity 12” (forget the model) but years ago I changed to a Kicker 43CVR122. I’ve had this wired in parallel to an Alpine MRP-M500. Close to 20’ of 4 gauge power to the battery with a BOSS 100 amp fuse 4 inches from the battery and a Leiges Audio 4 gauge to 8 gauge reducer fuse block with 4 inches of 8 gauge running to the amp. I used T Tap connectors at the rear outs on my stock head unit with close to 20’ of 16 gauge speaker wire running to the hatch where my amp is. I’ve got about 9 inches of 4 gauge ground wire running directly to the chassis where I sanded down to bear metal. This setup has not given me any trouble over the years.

Recently my amp started going into protect mode almost immediately upon turning my radio on. It will stay on at low levels but once I turn it up, it cuts out. I actually had another new sub sitting around, same model so I switched it out, checked my wiring and same result.

Checked my wiring and noticed the ground had become just a little loose so I tightened it up, it won’t budge and still nothing.