Car electrical system going haywire after head unit install

Participant count
  • Participant list

guitarist5122

I'm new to messing with car audio but I thought I could figure it out since my job is electronics on aircraft. Please bear with me as my carknowledge is limited.

Story:

So I installed a double din head unit in my 07 Buick rendezvous yesterday. I used the proper wire harness interface for aftermarket stereos and the antenna adapter. After crimping all the wires together (that was easy since the wires were not only labled but color coated) I reconnected the battery to make sure everything was working before reinstalling everything. Everything worked beautifully! So I throw everything back together (after disconnecting the battery again) and then turned everything back on to ensure again that everything was working. Again, everything was working beautifully and I thought I actually figured out this intimidating project.

Problem:

While listening to the new stereo, I was cleaning up my mess from the install when the music suddenly stopped. Nothing was working: CD, radio, or auxiliary. So I turned the ignition off and back on. Everything from lights, guages, and stereo were flashing on and off quickly. I turned it back off and pulled the key but every electronic was still fluctuating. I quickly disconnected the battery for fear of things breaking. Now the car is just sitting in my garage with this problem and I don't know where to start. I got a suggestion to check fuses but I don't see how a bad fuse could be causing the whole car to go crazy without even a key in the ignition. From my experience, when a fuse in a system goes bad then only that system is effected. Now I've heard that these newer cars have all these systems linked as a giant circuit and when one goes bad it just causes a lot of problems. Still I don't see how this problem would be created. It just seems like a unique problem as I've never heard anyone have this issue.