Alot of Newby questions

Participant count
  • Participant list

itsblown
10+ year member

why is there smoke?
Toledo OH
Well this is my first thread post on here and I'm extremely new to car audio and Hope you guys take an easy on me but there's some questions I have been pondering the answer to for a while

1. If you have a 30 watt rms speaker and you give it 30 watts will it sound louder than a 60watt rms speaker given 30 watts.

2. Why is it that bigger speakers play lower notes and lower speakers play lower notes?

3. does 2 ohm compared to 4 ohm change sound quality at all or effect loudness?

4. If you have a head unit putting out 17 watts a channel playing all 4 speakers then amp up 2 of the speakers the head unit was originally playing is the head unit now putting out more power to the 2 speakers its amping up.

5. Why must I consistently blow speakers?

6. whats the purpose of life?

1. If you have a 30 watt rms speaker and you give it 30 watts will it sound louder than a 60watt rms speaker given 30 watts.
In theory, power ratings on any particular speaker is a thermal rating meaning it can handle the amount of heat generated when X amount of watts are passed through it's coil. In practice, many companies abuse this number as there's no real oversight to how a speaker should be tested. Realistically, I wouldn't worry much about matching the wattage sticker on a speaker to an amp.

2. Why is it that bigger speakers play lower notes and lower speakers play lower notes?